facebook logo







Daren Davoux, SDSUAbout Us

The Integrative Graduate Education and Research Traineeship (IGERT) is a new multi-institutional model for interdisciplinary, integrative graduate education and training with the goal of increasing the capacity of smaller Ph.D. programs in rural States to contribute significantly to high-impact research and global workforce development in critical areas. The group vision is to leverage the combined research infrastructure of South Dakota in the physical sciences and engineering to create a program in research and graduate education that takes full advantage of complementary areas of expertise across the State within a unifying interdisciplinary theme. This theme evolved from a successful, ongoing collaboration, called Photo-Active Nanoscale Systems (PANS), between the University of South Dakota (USD), South Dakota State University (SDSU), and the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology (SDSM&T).

Key elements of the IGERT model include:

IGERT students will pursue research with a major advisor on their home campus and a collaborating advisor on a second campus in an alternate discipline. Using an NSF IGERT award as a foundation, we intend to train professionals with broad interdisciplinary backgrounds, uncompromised depth of knowledge in their chosen fields, and an expectation, based on their own experience, of engaging in large-scale research projects in a collaborative and interdisciplinary environment.


Science Faculty/Research Mentors

The University of South Dakota

South Dakota State University

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Ethics Faculty

The University of South Dakota: Department of Language, Linguistics, and Philosophy: Leroy Meyer.

Outreach Partners

Sinte Gleska University: Academic Affairs: Leland Bordeaux, Vice President; Department of Chemistry: Subodh Singh, Assistant Professor (Outreach Host Institution).

Internship Partners 

Governor's Office of Economic Development: (Dakota Seeds) Melvin Ustad, Director.

National Renewable Energy Laboratory: National Center for Photovoltaics: Lawrence Kazmerski, Director.