facebook logo
Visit Our
Facebook Group!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Research Group Mentors

  • Photovoltaics & Solar Energy
  • Direct Write
  • Catalysis Group

Photovoltaics and Solar Energy Research Group

The Photovoltaics Research Group, with members from three South Dakota research universities, has a focus on third generation photovoltaic materials and devices. The goal of this program is to develop and commercialize novel organic and inorganic materials, devices and systems that provide cost-effective solutions for the nation’s short and long-term energy needs.

David Galipeau

 

David Galipeau
Group coordinator: Nanotechnology, chemical and biosensors, microelectronics photovoltaics. Contact: David.Galpieau@sdstate.edu

 

 

Mahdi Baroughi

 

Mahdi Baroughi
PV device characterization lab coordinator; organic and inorganic photovoltaics, organic electronics, molecular electronics, micro/nano electronic devices. 
Contact: M.FarrokhBaroughi@sdstate.edu

 

 

Mary Berry

 

Mary Berry
Physical chemistry, inorganic materials, phosphor materials, up-conversion materials, lanthanide spectroscopy, metal-organic photochemistry, MOCVD.
Contact: Mary.Berry@usd.edu

 

 

Venkat Bommisetty

 

Venkat Bommisetty
Coordinator: Nano-characterization laboratory, Molecular Electronics Laboratory; Nanoscience, inorganic photovoltaics, organic photovoltaics, molecular electronics, micro and nano-fabrication, scanning probe microscopy, nanosensors.
Contact: Venkat.Bommisetty@sdstate.edu

 

 

Qi Hua Fan

 

Qi Hua Fan
Inorganic photovoltaic materials and devices, plasma simulation and plasma sources, electro-optical thin films, hard coatings.
Contact: Qihua.Fan@sdstate.edu

 

 

Hongshan He

 

Hongshan He
Photoconversion materials, luminescent materials, magnetic materials, molecular modeling, and crystallography.
Contact: Hongshan.He@sdstate.edu

 

 

hoefelmeyer

 

James Hoefelmeyer
Inorganic chemistry, main group, organometallics, nanocrystals, catalysis, solar energy utilization, electron microscopy.
Contact: James.Hoefelmeyer@usd.edu

 

 

Zhong Hu

 

Zhong Hu
Quantum mechanical modeling, molecular modeling, finite element analysis.
Contact: Zhong.Hu@sdstate.edu

 

 

Jiang


Chaoyang Jiang
Nanostructured-materials, layer-by-layer assembly, surface-enhanced Raman scattering, plasmonic materials.
Contact: Chaoyang.Jiang@usd.edu

 

 

Dimitri Kilin

 

Dmitri Kilin
Theoretical chemistry, dynamics of excited states, charge transfer at surfaces, computational design of energy materials.
Contact: Dmitri.Kilin@usd.edu

 


Ranjit Koodali

 

Ranjit Koodali
Physical chemistry, mesoporous materials, sol-gel chemistry, solar energy conversion for environmental remediation and generation of fuels. 
Contact: Ranjit.Koodali@usd.edu


 

Cuikun Lin

 

Cuikun Lin
Nanoscience, inorganic materials, chemical synthesis of 0D and 1D luminescent and magnetic nanoparticles; fabrication of nobel-metal nanocomposite thin films.

 

Qingguo Meng

 

Qingguo Meng
Laser assisted MOCVD, volatile precursors, lanthanide based luminescent materials, heterogeneous catalysis, micro/mesoporous zeolites.

 

 

Brian Logue

 

Brian Logue
Electrochemistry, dye sensitized solar cells, chemical sensors. 
Contact: Brian.Logue@sdstate.edu

 

 

Stanley May

 

Stanley May
Physical Chemistry, inorganic materials, up-conversion materials, phosphor materials, lanthanide spectroscopy, metal-organic photochemistry, MOCVD. 
Contact: Stanley.May@usd.edu

 

 

Qiquan Qiao

 

Qiquan Qiao
Organic photovoltaics, organic light emitting diodes, organic transistors, semiconducting polymers and dyes, nanomaterials. 
Contact: Qiquan.Qiao@sdstate.edu

 

 

Rajesh Shende

 

Rajesh Shende
Sustainable energy, alternative fuels, nanostructured materials, thin-films and MEMS, sensors and therapeutics.
Contact: Rajesh.Shende@sdsmt.edu

 

 

Steve Smith

 

Steve Smith
Program director, nanoscience and nanoengineering, nanoscale imaging, energy and time-resolved spectroscopy, photonic and electronic properties of nanomaterials.
Contact: Steve.Smith@sdsmt.edu

 

 

Haoran Sun

 

Haoran Sun
Organic chemistry, fluorine chemistry, organic light emitting dcodes (OLED), electrochemistry, and computational chemistry.
Contact: Haoran.Sun@usd.edu

 

 

Andrew Sykes

 

Andrew Sykes
Inorganic chemistry, luminescence sensors, coordination chemistry, single-crystal X-ray crystallography.
Contact: Andrew.Sykes@usd.edu

 

 

XingZhong Yan

 

XingZhong Yan
Photovoltaic materials and devices, conjugated polymers, near infrared florescence dyes.
Contact: Xingzhong.Yan@sdstate.edu

 


Zhengtao Zhu

Zhengtao Zhu

Organic electronic materials and devices, conjugated polymer/nanostructure nanocomposites, charge transport and device physics.
Contact: Zhengtao.Zhu@sdsmt.edu

Direct Write Research Group

The Direct Write Research Group, with members from the University of South Dakota and the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, has a focus on direct-write fabrication of electromagnetic devices. Another research area involves ink formulation for a variety of direct write technologies, most particularly for security applications and for electrodes on next-generation solar cells. 

Jon Kellar

 

Jon Kellar (PI)
Department Head, direct write printing of functional nanoparticulate-based inks for photovoltaic and security applications.
Contact: Jon.Kellar@sdsmt.edu

 

 

 

Dimitrios Anagnostou

 

Dimitrios Anagnostou
Antennas: small / reconfigurable / wideband, arrays, microwave components, RF MEMS, environmentally-friendly, flexible RF electronics, RF harvesters, solar cells and wireless sensors using direct-write.
Contact: Dimitrios.Anagnostou@sdsmt.edu

 

 

William Cross

 

William Cross
Manufacture of nanoparticulates; surface chemistry of interfaces in direct write systems; adhesion and spreading of direct write printed nanoparticulate inks.
Contact: William.Cross@sdsmt.edu

 

 

 

Thomas Montoya

 

Thomas Montoya
Direct-write fabrication of loaded antennas and microwave/RF devices and the materials needed, ground penetrating radars, finite-difference time-domain (FDTD) method.
Contact: Thomas.Montoya@sdsmt.edu

 

 

 

Keith Whites

 

Keith Whites
Analysis, design and measurement of artificial electromagneticmaterials; electromagnetic materials characterization; high impedance and textured surfaces; direct-write fabrication of antennas, microwave frequency devices, and solar cell collector networks; ultra-wideband antennas and wireless communications.
Contact: Whites@sdsmt.edu

 

South Dakota Catalysis Group


The Catalysis Group was formed to address the challenge of solar energy utilization with a focus on catalysis in energy conversion processes. The SDCG includes nine project leaders, postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and undergraduate students, and engages U.S. National Laboratories in collaborations. Laboratory infrastructure development is a priority, and recent acquisitions include: fuel cell test station, total organic carbon analyzer, high temperature graphitization furnace, Langmuir-Blodgett trough, and zeta potential analyzer (planned). These activities are synergistic with major SD research projects, including: acquisition of powder X-ray diffractometer and transmission electron microscope, the Photo-Active NanoSystems (PANS) group, and the Center for Research and Development of Light-Activated Materials.

 

James Hoefelmeyer

 

James Hoefelmeyer (PI)
Inorganic chemistry, main group, organometallics, nanocrystals, catalysis, solar energy utilization, electron microscopy.
Contact: James.Hoefelmeyer@usd.edu

 

 

Phil Ahrenkiel

 

Phil Ahrenkiel
Characterization and synthesis of renewable-energy materials.
Contact: Phil.Ahrenkiel@sdsmt.edu

 

 

Dan Engebretson

 

Dan Engebretson
Inorganic chemistry, non-linear optical spectroscopy, self-assembled lipid structures
Contact: Daniel.Engebretson@usd.edu

 

 

 

Hao Fong

 

Hao Fong
Nano-scaled polymeric, ceramic, metallic, carbonaceous fibers and their applications.
Contact: Hao.Fong@sdsmt.edu

 

 

Ranjit Koodali

 

Ranjit Koodali
Physical chemistry, mesoporous materials, sol-gel chemistry, solar energy conversion for environmental remediation and generation of fuels. 
Contact: Ranjit.Koodali@usd.edu

 

 

Jan Pusznyski

 

Jan Puszynski
Nanotechnology, materials science, ceramics, high temperature reaction engineering, mathematical modeling of reactive systems. 
Contact: Jan.Puszynski@sdsmt.edu

 

 

Grigoriy Sereda

 

Grigoriy Sereda
Dark/phototoxicity of quinone-porphyrin conjugates, relationship between nanoscale morphology of carbonaceuos materials and their catalytic activity toward alkylation and oxidation of aromatic compounds, controlled modification of fluorescent nanocrystals with organic functionalities.
Contact: Grigoriy.Sereda@usd.edu

 

 

Rajesh Shende

 

Rajesh Shende
Sustainable energy, alternative fuels, nanostructured materials, thin-films and MEMS, sensors and therapeutics.
Contact: Rajesh.Shende@sdsmt.edu

 

 

Jacek Swiatkiwicz

 

Jacek Swiatkiewicz
Nonlinear optical spectroscopy, nonlinear optics, nanoenergetic materials.
Contact: Jacek.Swiatkiewicz@sdsmt.edu